ARRL East Bay Section

Archive for the 'Uncategorized' Category

N6AJO Leaves Vice Director Post

Posted by af6aq on 13th June 2009

Below you will find a note from my Vice Director, Andy Oppel, N6AJO. Andy served as my Assistant Section Manager during my terms as East Bay Section Manager. When my very good friend Jim Maxwell, W6CF, passed away in February of 2003, making me the Pacific Division Director, I asked Andy to be my Vice Director. He served in both posts very well, advising me on many issues, and providing me with his insightful¬† comments. I’ll miss having him as my back-up, and I know the other Board members will miss seeing him at Board meetings. He’ll also be missed at club meetings, hamfests, and conventions in the Pacific Division. Thank you, Andy, for all that you have done for me, and for Amateur Radio and the American Radio Relay League.

Bob Vallio, W6RGG


I regret to inform you that family and work issues have forced me to resign as your ARRL Pacific Division Vice Director. I have enjoyed being able to serve you in that capacity for the past 6+ years and as East Bay Section Manager for 3 years prior to that. I very much appreciate the support and friendship offered by many of you and I hope I still get a chance to see many of you from time to time.

ARRL Pacific Division Director Bob Vallio will be announcing my replacement shortly. Trust me when I say you will be in good hands.

Andy Oppel, N6AJO

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on N6AJO Leaves Vice Director Post

ARRL Award Nominations are Open

Posted by af6aq on 22nd January 2009

Each year the ARRL Board of Directors has the opportunity to select recipients for a number of awards in various categories that honor Amateur Radio operators.

The nomination period is now open for the annual ARRL awards that are designed to recognize educational and technological pursuits in Amateur Radio and honor a young Amateur Radio operator. Suggestions on who to honor and supporting information, including the endorsement of ARRL affiliated clubs and elected or appointed League officials, should be submitted to ARRL Headquarters or nominations should be submitted first to your respective Section Manager (see page 16 of QST). It all depends upon the award.  Please check the ARRL Web page for specific details ( In most cases, nominations are due by March 31, 2009.

The Hiram Percy Maxim Award is for a licensed radio amateur under age 21 whose accomplishments and contributions are of the most exemplary nature within the framework of Amateur Radio activities.

The ARRL Herb S. Brier Instructor of the Year Award goes to a volunteer Amateur Radio instructor, and the ARRL Professional Educator of the Year Award is given to a professional teacher who has incorporated Amateur Radio into his or her class curriculum.

The ARRL Microwave Development Award is presented to a licensed radio amateur or to individuals who are licensed radio amateurs contribute to the development of the Amateur Radio microwave bands.

The ARRL Technical Service Award recognizes a licensed radio amateur or to individuals who are licensed radio amateurs that provide Amateur Radio technical assistance or training to others.

The ARRL Technical Innovation Award is granted to the licensed radio amateur or to individuals who are licensed radio amateurs that develop and apply new technical ideas or techniques in Amateur Radio.

Nomination forms and further information on these awards are found at

Posted in Press Release, Uncategorized | Comments Off on ARRL Award Nominations are Open